03 May 2018

Honorary Fellowship for Chair of the Bedford Society

By Development and Alumni Relations Team

Claire Daunton2Each year, Royal Holloway and Bedford New College awards Honorary Fellowships to individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to the life and work of the College.

We are delighted that Bedford College alumna, Dr Claire Gobbi Daunton (History, 1974), will be awarded one of five Honorary Fellowships for 2017/18, in recognition of her extensive voluntary work as Chair of the Bedford Society.

Claire has been actively and enthusiastically involved in furthering the work of the Bedford Society since its inception, working closely with Bedford alumni and the Development and Alumni Relations team, and at present is Chair of the Society’s Committee.

Caroline Hawley, Director of Development and Alumni Relations said, “Claire is a dedicated senior volunteer for the College. She assists with all aspects of Bedford alumni relations activity including chairing quarterly meetings, attending numerous events, making speeches, fronting fundraising appeals, contributing to Bedford Society communications and much more. In addition Claire’s expertise in history and her knowledge of Bedford College and therefore Royal Holloway’s heritage is extremely valuable to our work. We are so grateful to Claire for her ongoing support and we are delighted that she has accepted an Honorary Fellowship.”

The first of the 2017/18 Honorary Fellowships was conferred on Professor Justin Champion in December, in recognition of his contribution to history in the United Kingdom and the College. The other Honorary Fellowships this year will be awarded to Dr Klaus Vedder, in recognition of ongoing support to the Information Security Group and the continued success of the College’s Smart Card Centre; Dr Doron Swade MBE, in recognition of noteworthy contributions to the College, including the Babbage Project and the formation of the Computer Conservation Society; and Mr Iain Ross, in recognition his work supporting the College Council over many years, including as Vice Chair of College Council.

Claire will receive her Honorary Fellowship at this year’s Honorary Fellows Ceremony in May.